Grace and Blessings

Standard

So  there I was.  I was standing in a church in the middle of mass, in the middle of a song and suddenly I couldn’t stop smiling.  It really caught me off guard.  Every Saturday night I get to go and  sing with a really amazing group of musicians.  I  get to just stand there and sing.   There is something so fulfilling to marry your voice, your instrument, to the sounds of another instrument.  I strive to match each piano note in intensity or subtlety.  It is something wonderful to let your voice find it’s comfort in each beat of a drum, to ride that wave.  The bass and guitar just round out this incredible sound that comes at you in layers, like a painting.  I think each one stands  fully on it’s own but when you blend all of that together  magic happens.  I don’t want to sound trite about it or to sound cliche but magic is what comes to mind.  I was overwhelmed with how blessed I am to be a part of this community of musicians.   It is strange to say it but it’s like levitation with your feet on the ground or being free and totally connected at the same time.

If you haven’t guessed yet  I LOVE TO SING.   It is liberating.   It isn’t about money or politics or ego or fame.   It’s just about singing.

I have to travel a bit of a distance to get to the church every Saturday night but I really would go twice as far (if  I could) to do it.  I am so happy when  I am there.  I guess in a way I  feel really complete when I sing and I want to invite everyone in.  I want you all to have something that does for you what singing does for me.   It is a blessing and a gift and I hope that maybe this new CD will give you a glimpse of what that is like for me and  that  you can connect with that joy in some way.

The best part for me is that I get to wake up tomorrow (perhaps a little too early) and do it all again with a different group who while, slightly different, are just as amazing.  I am so blessed and so grateful.  Grace and blessings to you and yours.

3 responses »

  1. How ironic that you should write this today. I just got home after singing with the LMU choirs and I know just how you feel. To be a part of something like that is so amazing and fills my heart with a joy unlike anything else. And then tomorrow I’ll sing with the choir at church in a totally different voice and feel, yet my heart will be filled with another joy that is also unique unto itself. We truly are blessed … thank you, Mom and Dad, for giving us those musical genes!

  2. OK, I’m not crazy! I wrote a nice comment and just as I hit “submit” I noticed my name said “Maryand” – hence my other comment … which is the only one that took!

    What I said was … I found it a little ironic that you should write this message today since I read it just after I got home from my concert at LMU. I understand how being a part of something like that can fill the heart in a way that nothing else can. Then I get to go to church tomorrow & sing with a totally different type of choir in what feels like a totally different voice, yet my heart is again filled to the bring. We are truly blessed — Thanks, Mom & Dad, for the musical genes. I certainly treasure what it adds to my life.

Leave a Reply

