The Best Days of Your Life

Standard

So it’s Wednesday and it’s a little gray outside.  I love June gloom!   It really doesn’t feel “gloomy” to me at all.   For me it heralds summer.   Those last weeks of school when  you needed a sweater in the morning and were melting by afternoon.  The polyester school uniforms didn’t exactly breath.   As a child, it was my favorite time of year.   We were still in school but there really wasn’t much going on.   The teachers were already on vacation, or at least from a student’s perspective, it seemed that way.    Year books came out and we were all trying to think of something clever to write (Have a bitchin’ summer….now there’s something cool.)  maybe even coin your own hip phrase.   With all that said….I wouldn’t go back for all the tea in China.

I can remember people telling me that I was not enjoying that time that way I should.  They would say things like “these are the best years of your life.”  I, of course, would roll my eyes in that snotty teenagery way.   Did I mention I was a brat back then.   I didn’t appreciate that they were really trying to help me and I was less than grateful however…..I really hated to think that those were the  best days of my life.   I think my actual response was something like “If this is as good as it gets, kill me now.”  Snotty right?   I really did believe it then and still do.  Allow me to explain.

I know that I have had some really GREAT days.   My wedding day is  right at the top but it really is just barely because in actuality first real “date” did it for me.  I have to tell you though, on my wedding day, I thanked my husband for “the best day ever” and his reply……..”so far.”   He always reminds me that this whole marriage/life thing is not a sprint, it’s a marathon.   I have this sinking suspicion that the best days are yet to come.   The day that we got to go and bring number 4 home from  the hospital was a pretty great day but he has given me so many more of those jump out of your skin wonderful days and I suspect there is more to come from him as well.    All of my kids have the great ability to say one thing and I could just melt away with joy.   The best years, the best days?   You can’t say anything is the  best until you tried them all and I think (and hope) that I have lots still to choose from.   My new turn of phrase well, really my husband gets the credit….”This is the best day so far.”   I hope you all have a great day!

Leave a Reply

