Procrastination. (isn’t that a Carly Simon song?)

Standard

O.k.  maybe you do this too.   Sometimes I have so many things on my plate….I put it down entirely and choose not to eat.   You can’t put off eating forever or you will die right?

This week I have so much on my agenda, besides my regular child and household stuff.   I start teaching my CCD class on Saturday and have not prepared a thing.   I have ideas but haven’t formalized anything.   I also have two picnics (school and church) to prepare for.  I am responsible for the music at our church’s outdoor mass…….haven’t planned that either.   I have a back to school meeting tonight which I am woefully unprepared for on many levels, the biggest one being that I still don’t know if I am sending #1 back and school starts on Monday.   I am trying to work on this concert thing I have been wanting to do and have a rehearsal scheduled for tomorrow night that I’m not sure I am ready for blah blah blah blah!

The point here is that I have things I need to do and here I sit blogging!   Can anyone say “avoidance” or “procrastination.”    Why is it that I can’t seem to get anything started or finished for that matter.   Instead I choose to sit in a state of panic and indecision.   Where should my priorities be.   Let’s face it……with all of the kids home it is sometimes hard to form one solid thought much less get something finished……and yet I blog.   Shall we ponder that for awhile?   O lets and then we have one more excuse not to get started and live in a state of anxiety.   I think I will finish my dishes instead and move on to project number two.   I guess that’s how most people get things done.   By the way…….don’t “to do” lists just seem like one more thing to do?   Hmmmm.

One response »

  1. I can relate to this post on so many levels. Being overextended is such a bad feeling–it’s almost like there’s no other way to cope but to procrastinate.

    It’s like juggling–someone tosses another ball at you, and then another, and then another, until you have no choice but to drop them all.

    But here’s what I think, too–things have a way of working themselves out. If you show up to a meeting unprepared, chances are you’ll be the only one who notices.

    Here’s to hoping you have a better week. Hang in there! And, thanks for stopping by 36×37 on Thursday. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

