I Want My Mama

Standard

Forgive me while a travel, yet again, down my little path of nostalgia.   I don’t know about you but I seem to be led down these tiny, unbeaten, paths from time to time.   It’s like the muses are calling me and I have but to answer.  I find myself standing in a place that wraps me up in an emotional quilt….bits and pieces of joy and sorrow.   I refuse to be shamed into thinking that these songs are just fluff or pop or anything less than what they were.  In some cases the best of our humanity.

Well, after years of not hearing one of my favorite childhood songs, I have been bombarded by Cass Elliot’s Make Your Own Kind of Music.   In less then 2 weeks, I have heard it, from many different sources, no less then 3 times.    Once, o.k. twice, sort of interesting but 3 times speaks to me in a whole new way.   Someone is trying to tell me something.   What a loss!    I found myself on a You Tube journey.   One song leads to another and you find yourself an hour later still on the mad search for more and more and more.     I sat here this morning listening to Cass and John Denver singing Leaving on a Jet Plane.   It’s almost more than I can stand.   Two beautiful souls making beautiful music.   There is a God!   Two people from my childhood that always made me feel like there was a place for me in the world.

I know that I only knew them through their music but in that world they were as close to perfection as one can get.   I still weep over the loss of people like them who really touched my heart even at the tender age of 4 and 5.    They are the sound track of my life and I am eternally grateful.    Is it crazy to think I could be that for someone else?   Ultimately, I have learned, from them, to try and be that for myself.    That is why I sing when no one else is listening.   In some small way it makes me feel connected to others who get it.   I know you’re out there.   “Make Your Own Kind of Music.”

One response »

  1. I don’t think it’s crazy…I think you could absolutely be that for someone else. Music is almost like breathing for me…that and words. My biggest facination as of late is to buy a banjo and write songs–something I’ve wanted to do a LONG time. Why wait? Craigslist…here I come!

Leave a Reply

