The In Betweeners

Standard

I have just spent the last 15 minutes trying to reason with #4, a four….well actually five in 32 days, year old, who is in a very unreasonable, whiny state.   He has been living in this state for about a month now and I have really reached the end of my rope.   My generally content and happy boy has been the most unreasonable child in the bunch.   No matter what we put on his plate…..he doesn’t like it.   He asks for something and as soon as you get it done for him he doesn’t want it anymore……and he cries and cries and cries.   The strangest things set him off.     Yesterday he cried for 15 minutes, which is long time to cry, because he didn’t want his grandmother to come over and then was obsessivley asking “why isn’t she hear yet?”   I actually got on the phone and had to call to get an ETA to get him to calm down.    AAAHHHH!   It is really draining!    He is so unreasonable!

My poor little guy is so ready for school.   Unfortunately I would have to get a job just to pay for pre-school.   Literally, it would take another pay check just to pay for schooling for him.   I think sometimes I should do it but then I would also have to find day care for the other 3 after school and  that one pay check would not cover that.   It is a strange concept but it would actually end up costing me more money if I were to go and get a job.    He is so bored and as much as I try I cannot please him right now.    His whole being is in flux and he is letting the whole world know that he  is uncomfortable…..wait a minute…….is that him or really me?   Now there’s a question for the day.   We are both living in limbo right now, stuck between what we have been for so long and what where we know we want to go next but have to wait.   Patience, in this family, is in short supply.  Toss in the lack of sleep for us all and you  have a recipe for discomfort.    Why are transitions so hard?     No answers here but say a little prayer for us both to find our way.    We could use a little help.

One response »

  1. Been there! Although I agree he’s probably bored and cranky and ready for the next phase of his life, my kids always seemed to crank up a month or so before their birthdays, when they were younger. I remember comparing notes with other moms, and thinking it had something to do with their world getting bigger as they mature and start noticing options, dangers, possibilities.
    And I hear ya on the “can’t afford to work” stuff! Ah life!
    Been keeping track of you here, but usually on my blackberry, so hard to comment, but am so proud of you!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

