The Little Tape Deck that Could

Standard

O.k.  ….so this is what amazes me.   Do you have any idea how much goes into the production of just one song?   It goes so far beyond the writing of the lyric and music.   I love the saying “it takes a village” because it really is true,  well….at least it is for me.  I know that there are people out there who can do it all but I (sadly) am not one of them.

What started this latest rant you  might be asking.   I tried working on the vocal arrangements for the first song and I don’t think I really realized how difficult this was going to be.   I have an ear for a simple parallel harmony but it is so much more than that.   I haven’t ever worked on vocal arrangements with out a partner.   I generally like to to let the music speak to me about where the harmonies belong.   I know that sounds sort of strange but it is true, that most songs lyrics, will give you some clue as to the places the voice should remain singular.   Sometimes it is more subtle than others but if you listen, the music will sometimes lead you as well.   This is the part of the process I normally love.   I have to say however, that my experience in this area is somewhat limited and usually took place in the studio with another person (who was somehow invested in the project) working with me.   This time I was doing the work myself, at home, with a computer and two tape recorders because both of them have certain tasks they cannot do.   One of them does not have a built in mic and the other will not fast forward or rewind.  Crazy….I know but throw in my four year old and it has the makings of some strange sitcom.   That being said, I did the best I could with what I had at my disposal.   I can’t afford to work this out in the studio.   I need to have it all ironed out before I go in so I am not spending too much time there.

I guess it really boils down to a matter of learning to trust my own voice, my own gut.   I really want this to be a pure expression of myself but I also realize that people are good at what they do and perhaps there is great value in having the input of another voice.  By that I don’t actually mean the “voice” but the idea and  perspective of another human being.   I do consider it a great value when two people can bring their vision to the table and in doing so create something that is greater than the sum of it’s parts.  Oh the dilema!   Am I letting myself off the hook or giving up on myself when the going gets tough.   I am the queen of second guessing and  sometimes it causes me  to stop dead in my tracks.   Can’t stop now so I guess it is back to the drawing board, in this case the two broken tape players, to give it another go.   I think I can, I think I can, I think I can etc.

Leave a Reply

