Song Writing and Plumbing

Standard

I may not be recording…. yet, but I am happy to announce the arrival of a new song.   It never ceases to amaze me when that happens.   It just sort of, well,  happens.   I would like to be one of those people who works at and hones her craft on a daily basis but alas that is not me.   I think it coud be and just might be at some point but for today, I accept songs  like a gift from the heavens.   I am grateful when it happens because I can honestly say that I am a mere vessel.   It is easier, for me anyway, not to  put too much faith in my own abilities and to trust in something greater than myself.   If I can listen to the song in my heart and soul and bring it into the light, then I know it will find it’s place in the world because or even in spite of me.    If there is  a message for the world and I am just the messanger then it takes some of the pressure off.     I do believe that is part of what makes the artist so vital in this world.

There is another school of thought here that you need to write everyday in order to hone your craft and I am not disputing that.   So many of the song writers that I admire do just that but I also think by writing every day you are sharpening that ability that allows you to hear the “muse” .   I think that it is a little like unclogging a drain.   While the clog may allow some water to flow through from time to time,  if you work at it you can open up that pipe so that the water can flow freely and more abundantly.   So what I am saying is,” song writing is like plumming.”  Put that in your quote for the day!  

For today I am gratefully accepting the gift in any form.   A new song is just enough to refuel my energy for this project and renew my own vision of myself as a song writer.   It may not be a gold record any day soon but I feel confident that the message is one that I was meant tobe  pass ed along and give it freely.

Leave a Reply

