Happy Birthday to You (me)

Standard

Today is my birthday.  I guess it’s one of those things that  sort of quietly passes by once you reach a certain age.  I am not sad about that.  It almost feels like  a special secret you have with your mom.  (sorry dads)  It carries so much more, deep in the heart, kind of feeling that gifts somehow don’t seem necessary (but still very much appreciated.)  It has become the day in which I take stock.  I ask myself questions like “Am I happy?”  “Am I where I thought I would be at this point in my life?” etc.  I’m sure you ask yourselves the same things.  What I know is that the answers sometimes change but the questions are usually the same.  Some times I am right where I thought I would be and sometimes I am someplace I never could have imagined.

I was teaching again today and the students and I were working on their original piece entitled “Curious is a Good Thing”   It was the same group I had spoken about in previous posts.  I had asked the kids to bring in items that somehow represented something inspirational.  I had a student bring in a roll of scotch tape.  I asked him what it represented and he said “it reminds me that it is o.k. to make mistakes.”  Brilliant!  I just loved it.  We started talking about how making mistakes is actually a good thing.  Sometimes it is the mistake, not the success, that teaches us so much.  Sometimes, getting lost,  takes us to places we otherwise would never have seen.   Maybe it was where we were meant to travel in the first place so maybe there isn’t really such a thing as a “mistake”.   I actually think that is not true and sometimes a mistake is just that …… a mistake from which we must start over, but perhaps a phoenix will rise from the ashes.   It is pretty astounding to have these sorts of conversations with a bunch of 10 year olds but it brings me back to my own questions.  “Am I where I thought I would be at this time in my life?” and aside from a few minor issues I can say that I am.

I told them that I clearly remember writing (in blue ball point pen) an essay when I was in the 5th grade.  I remember drawing a picture of myself (at an awards show) singing.  I knew then that music was my bliss.  I also remember writing in my essay that I would be a mom (I thought I might have my own house.)  and that I would somehow be working with kids.   I feel content today to say that I have done all those things (minus the award show and big house).   I am doing exactly what I thought I would be doing.   Who knows where we go from here but my hope is that this CD is not far behind.  Next year I want to say….”Yes I did what I set out to do!  but I am willing to accept a few mistakes along the way because who knows where they might lead.  Happy Birthday to all you March babies out there!

One response »

  1. I somehow stopped getting these on my feed. Hmm. ANYWAY! YAY! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO US!!!
    Yes, I’m not exactly where I thought I’d be, either, but it’s all good. And some of it… well… I know there’s a God, because He makes better choices than I do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

